Pre-Selecting (with or without Allocation) Students For Clubs & Activities Prior To Signup Starting

You may want to pre-select students Students in certain activities prior to signups opening.  This is particularly useful if, for example, you are running a sports squad and you want to be able to select your squad prior to signups opening, thus preventing your squad booking onto other activities that run at the same day & timeslot.

There are certain options you may have when using this function.

Option 1 - Preselect the activity so that the Parent or Student cannot choose an alternative
Option 2 - Preselect the activity but allow the Parent or Student to override that choice if they choose to

Once this choice has been made there is then the option of whether to complete the group, so no one else can join, (again useful for a sports squad) or to leave the group open so that once you have made your choices Parents or Students can then choose the activity if they wish.

Preselecting an activity so that the Parent or Student cannot choose an alternative:

When creating the Group in your Preference Based signup ensure that you tick the box 'For information/Invitation only'







This will ensure that a Parent or Student cannot override the selection.  When the Group is created click the allocate button on the right-hand side of the Group





The allocation screen will be displayed and you will need to click the pre-select button shown below


A Student selection will open showing all Students available for the selected Group.  You can type in the search bar at the top to narrow your search, filter by Group or alternatively, scroll down and choose by page.  Once you have identified the Students you require, simply click the green plus icon to the right of their name to select them or click the add all button.  To remove a selection click the trashcan icon to the right of the selected Student or click the remove all button








Once selections have been made then click the green save button.

You now have the option to save, complete the Group or put the Group on hold.  Completing the Group is useful if you do not want anyone else to be able to join the Group once you have made your selections.  If you are happy for others to join then click save.

Please note that a manually allocated 'completed' group is skipped when the auto-allocation process is run. 







When a Parent or Student now logs in to make their selections they will already be selected for the above Group.  They will not be able to amend this choice.






Preselecting an activity allowing the Parent or Student to override the selection:

When creating the Group in your Preference Based signup ensure that you tick the box 'For information/Invitation only'.  






This will ensure that a Parent or Student cannot override the selection.  When the Group is created click the allocate button on the right-hand side of the Group




The allocation screen will be displayed and you will need to click the pre-select button shown below:




A Student selection will open showing all Students available for the selected Group.  You can type in the search bar at the top to narrow your search, filter by Group or alternatively scroll down and choose by page.  Once you have identified the Students you require, simply click the green plus icon to the right of their name to select them or click the add all button.  To remove a selection click the trashcan icon to the right of the selected Student or click the remove all button.






Once selections have been made then click the green save button.  You now have the option to save, complete the Group or put the Group on hold.  Do not complete the Group if you are planning on letting Parents/Students override your selection. If you are happy for others to join then click save.








You will now need to click edit on the Group once more




You can now remove the tick on the 'For information/Invitation only' selection - If you plan to complete the Group then leave this option ticked







Parents/Students can now log in and have the option to choose their own selection if required






If you need to know how to manually add Student selections then see the following support article here